External Trade Achievements

External Trade Achievements

International trade agreements

Uganda is signatory to several treaties which has enabled the country’s products access regional and international markets. International agreements Uganda is party to include:

  • The World Trade Organisation (WTO) Agreement
  • The EAC-EU Economic Partnership Agreements; concluded in 2016, but remains unsigned.
  • Agreement Establishing the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA). The AfCFTA establishes a single market involving 55 member states of Africa. The AfCFTA is a recent opportunity that will enhance Uganda’s exports in the African continental market. Trading commenced on 1st January 2021.
  • The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) Treaty
  • Treaty Establishing the East African Community-EAC (Customs Union Protocol, Common Market Protocol, EAC Customs Management Act, Sanitary and Phytosanitary-SPS Protocol)
  • Tripartite Free Trade Area Agreement (EAC+COMESA+SADC). SADC is the Southern African Development Community.

Domestic laws/policies

  • External Trade Act 1953: The law provides for the regulation of external trade and other matters incidental thereto or connected therewith. Regulations to guide better implementation of the Act have been finalised.
  • The National Trade Policy: Focuses on boosting private sector competitiveness to harness opportunities in the domestic and international markets, and expanding both domestic and international markets to stimulate increased production in the economy. The Policy is implemented through two instruments:
  • The National Trade Sector Development Plan
  • The National Export Development Strategy (NEDS)
  • National Policy on Services Trade – this focuses on enhancing the country’s ability to harness Trade in Services both domestically and in international markets.